December 19, 2002

12/19

Hello there everyone. Just a short sweet update on us...

Jay

Still in school, still in nightcrew, still my hubby, nothing new with him.

Joseph

He has a cold. Not too happy about either I might add. He LOVES it at his new babysitter's house. He actually asks me to go. And no tears when I leave him. I'm so happy that he's happy. Won't go near Santa though, so no picture this year. First time I have seen him afraid of any person before. However, he'll point at Santa and talk about him from a distance. Maybe next year. His vocabulary is growing. He's got 1 - 10 down. And he's using his vocabulary to describe things. Sparkly things, or things he just really likes are "pretty" which he says just fine, and "boo-tee-ful". I just love the way he says it. And if something is beautiful to him, he'll stand there in absolute awe, and say the word in a hushed voice. On the other hand, he is REALLY turning into a holy terror when he's mad. I don't know WHAT we're going to do about his temper. The only saving grace about it is, if I'm not with him, he's very good about minding the person he's with, and minding his manners. He's 2 1/2 and says please (peas), thank you (tank you), excuse me (scuuzie), and covers his mouth when he coughs. Not when he sneezes though - those kind of catch him off-guard. He's knows how to whisper, and will be quiet when asked. I'm very proud of his behavior when I'm not with him. When I am with him however, everything I just said flies out the window and he turns into one of THOSE children. You know - the ones you give wide berth to at the mall, or ask yourself why doesn't that mother just leave with him? In answer to that question - it's not as easy as you think, when you actually NEED those groceries, and who's going to watch him while you do that, and it may be another week before you have another opportunity, and the little one needs the formula TONIGHT, and really it bothers me than it bothers you. Unless you have one of these children, you have no idea the absolute mortification one feels when your child has a temper tantrum. The next time you see a child acting like that, take a good look at the parents. I don't mean the obvious expression. I mean the tension in the shoulders. Take a long at their chest. Are they breathing hard or taking long deep breaths to calm themselves. Do they have little fine lines around their mouth, as they are forced to remain calm? Do they have bags under their eyes from exhaustion? And by the way - there's nothing we can do in public. If you're a spanking parent, you can't spank your child. Because if someone sees you, many times they call security on you. I'm serious. If you do nothing and ignore the child (in hope that your inattention will get him to see that he's not going to get his way that way), you get looks and comments. There's no "right" way to handle the situation - because it's a temper tantrum! There's one thing that someone did the other day. It was wonderful and almost made me cry. I'm trying to maneuver the double stoller through a whole lot of rude people cutting me off because hey, they're more important than anyone else on this earth, my son is raising a holy ruckus, flinging himself around and screaming at the top of his lungs to let him go (he was strapped in). A lady was walking by, and just took me by the shoulder and said "Mom, tomorrow he's going to be 25. It's just a phase." Patted me and moved on. It was so nice to know that not everyone out there was thinking I was an awful mother.

Logan

Has 3 teeth now. He got his first picture with Santa - so adorable. He's smiling so big you can see all 3 of those teeth. As he gets older, he's happier and happier. He's VERY ill though. He has bronchitis that won't go away, and he's now on 3 different medications to try and get him over it. It's to the point where he's losing weight (on the medications he can't keep solid food down) so it's pretty bad. But I just simply don't want to dwell on it right now, so I won't. No I'm not in denial, but I'm the one who has to hold him down to force an oxygen mask over his face so he can get his breathing treatments, so I just really don't want to think about sickness right now. He's SO close to crawling. It's absolutely adorable to watch cause he's got this really fast rocking thing down where he revs up and launches himself to skootch, instead of crawling. If he tries to crawl, he goes backwards, and he gets this really confused look on his face, since that wasn't his destination (hence his new launching strategy).

0 comments so far

1:32 p.m.