November 26, 2002

11/26

Here in Southern California, the winds have been crazy. Last night, I was home alone with the kids (Jay was at work), and things were banging and hitting the house. Joseph ended up in our bed. I'm not sure what time, but we both woke up with a big crash, and Joseph ended up in my lap. I got him back to sleep and decided not to investigate, since I never heard any breaking glass or anything. This morning when I got up, once Logan was happy, I went outside to investigate. I actually had to call Jay to let him know not to park in our driveway. It was littered with those little scratchy branches that look harmless, but can ruin your undercarriage. The was a branch leaning across the driveway right where he would not see it driving in. Plus a huge portion of a tree fell on the house, which is what Joseph and I heard in the middle of the night. It was leaning up to the house, and by the time Jay got home, it had fallen into the driveway as well. Right where the car would go. My parents were supposed to go out to Lancaster to visit my aunt and uncle with Logan today, but I convinced them not to go. I didn't want them to make that drive in their tall truck, and Lancaster is even windier on a normal day.

I took Joseph to the new daycare for the first time this morning (my mom took him yesterday). I think this will be good for him in another way I hadn't thought about. We live in a white community. REALLY white, high fallutin'. We're not, but we live in the "poor" section. Read: Regular middle class. Anyway, Joseph is the only white child at the daycare. All the other kids are hispanic, including his caregivers. And it's a huge contrast when you look at them together, because not only is my son white, he's WHITE WHITE, as in fair, sensitive, irish skin. And very light blue eyes. So I'm excited about this, because he'll get to see that not everyone in the world looks and talks like our family (his caregiver also speaks spanish to the kids, and he's the only one not bilingual). So I really think that this is a good thing. You see, my father is a redneck - big time. He's a great papa, but I also don't want his beliefs spilling over into my son. Anyway, I drop him off, and he doesn't want me to leave, he's trying to share his toys with me. Alma asked him if he'd like to play with her (no, of course), but then she said "I've got raaaaaaace cars!" That child dropped me like a hot potato. I said for him to give me a kiss, and he actually sniffed when he did it - like, get outta here mom, I've got important business to attend to. He's 2 1/2 people. But I don't care. As long as I don't get the full tantrum, wrapping himself around my knees, crying, "no go work mommy!" which sends me into crying my whole ride to work feeling like the world's most calous mom, I'm happy. And I like that fact that even though she only has a few kids, she has a helper. Anyway, when I left I had a good feeling.

By the way, today's my ex-fiance's birthday. There's something sick about my remembering that.

0 comments so far

1:31 p.m.