November 5, 2002

11/5

Wow. Someone who's on the notify list wrote with basically a "hi how are you" message, which reminded me that I have not written in here in a while. Then I realized that I actually do have something to say. I get bored with writing about the same old days and the same old feelings. But stuff is going on.

First off we're getting rid of our babysitter. My parents dropped the kids off today for me, since we were running late. My mom calls me and says, "Guess what she told me today? She said that Logan is so awful on Mondays obviously because you hold him all weekend". Okay, I'd love to know where in hell she got that impression. I have a 2 1/2 year old. Plus, I'm trying to do all the housework/errands/random stuff that I haven't had time to do during the week. Not to mention paying bills, grocery shopping, clipping coupons, amongst changing diapers, getting snacks, juice, milk, water, formula, fixing the broken toys, not to mention saying the word "no" 5,642 times a day. Yeah, I blissfully hold and rock my infant all weekend so that he's a holy terror on Mondays. That's such bullshit. First off, now that he's not colicky anymore he's 1000 times better than he was. However, he's teething. He hurts. So he fusses. But she doesn't put the oragel in his mouth (why, I don't know... Probably the same reason he comes home with the same amount of formula he left with, and the same clothes, and the same amount of balmex, etc...). Plus, she wanted more money, she got more money. Then she wanted to be paid hourly, so we paid her hourly. But now that she's being paid hourly, because they left early to visit with their grandparents, she gets less money, so she's complained about that too. I've gone on two occasions, where the door was locked, and I had to ound on the door for 10 minutes so she would get out of bed. I've gone once, where the door was open, but I had to go in her room, and get her out of bed. Jay went and she never got up to open the door, and then her uncle showed up, so he went and banged on her window to get her out of bed. She has got to be the most UNPROFESSIONAL woman I have EVER known. And she's complaining about the money we give her, and she's uneducated (not even a GED), unliscensed, no CEC credits, and the money's tax free. Whatever. We thought we would give her the opportunity because she's a friend of the family, "Didn't want to take advantage of us financially", and the kids would be in a "home" instead of a "daycare". Ug. Not even. So, we're looking for someone else. I found someone who's HIGHLY recommended, and she has room for BOTH kids, and after she thought about it, she's willing to drop her price to fit our budget (more than half my paycheck which is currently going to the other babysitter). We have an appointment to go see her on Friday evening with the kids. I truly hope this works out. Truly Truly. Pray and cross your fingers, because if this doesn't work out I actually may have to quit my job - which I was just starting to love, and we were actually starting to make a dent in our debt.

In other news, Jay is really loving school. He's always wanted to make buildings. So while I'm in the shower this morning, he leaves a message on the answering machine, "Hi baby, I just wanted to tell you that I just made A WHOLE SKYSCRAPER out of just NEWSPAPER. Need I say more? My 26 year old husband is playing with paste and paper in school and loving it. We're going to be $24,000 in debt in a year and a half because of this. There should be something wrong with this picture, but if it means he makes a career out of doing what he loves, so be it.

Joseph is doing well. He's got all his colors down pat. Well, except for the weird ones, like gold or silver, or those cars that go down the road where you have to ask yourself "is that green or blue?". He's also got down purple and white (for some reason he mixed up the two). Now he's working on his counting. He actually can get to 10 with only mixing one number. For example 1-2-3-4-5-6-10-7-8-9. Where that number is changes every time, but he's doing really well, if you ask me. However. Potty training is kiiling me. I'm actually going to have to buy a book. We're not getting anywhere with it. He'll sit on his potty. He'll watch us go potty. He even says bye bye when we flush. But he just DOES NOT seem to make the connection with what goes into the potty, and the potty itself. Which tells me that he's not ready. But good Lord, he's 2 1/2. Changing him is NOT a pleasant experience. But there are these lists. You know, if you answer "yes" to 5 or more of these than your child is ready. He's not making those lists. So, maybe he really isn't ready. It's not like I've done this before. But they actually have the lifstyle series of dummy bookes. I'm going to buy "Potty Training for Dummies". After all "HTML for Dummies" is how I learned to make a webpage. Who knows, maybe it'll help with my son too! But that doesn't mean I want anyone seeing me read that one. In other news, my in-laws are coming up in a couple of weeks. They're going to be staying with us, since one of the nights we're going to spend the night at friends, and they're going to stay with the kids. I'm not sure I like this. I'm worried she'll find somthing to fret over. This also means, that since they'll be using our bedroom and shower, and cooking etc., I have to CLEAN clean the entire house. Why do I care what she thinks???

0 comments so far

1:30 p.m.