August 10, 2002

8/10

As I write this, Logan is in his swing - happy - for a change. Joseph is on the couch watching Saturday Morning Cartoons on PBS. And it's 8am. Of course, Joseph has been up since 6:30, after having been up at 4 for Logan, and Logan not going to bed until Midnight. Needless to say, I'm tired.

However, neither of them are crying, and I'm able to type with two hands. This is cause for serious joy. At least for this 5 minutes. We'll see how long it takes for me to actually get this entry done.

Joseph has been officially moved to his big boy (toddler) bed. We had to dismantle the crib for him to do it though. We'll just have to put it back up when Logan goes into that room. He's speaking in almost whole sentences, and his vocabulary is growing by leaps and bounds. In all ways unfortunately. He told me to "fuc* off" yesterday, and then ran off giggling. I have NO idea where he heard this, because we try not to swear in front of him. Why? Because he seems to pick up all the bad stuff. So the only swear words he hears from us are when we do things like seriously stubbing our toes (in other words when blood and bruises are involved). My mother denies it, but I have a feeling it's her. But, I just quietly tell him that's not nice, and move on. I'm afraid if I make a big deal of it, it will become a permanent addition. **Pause to slow down the swing that Joseph thinks is too slow for his brother** This whole bed move thing is stressful though. You see, he can now get out whenever he wants to. For example, I was awoken this morning with a very heavy toddler jumping on my tummy, "Mommy! Mommy! Up! Baby sleep'in!" at the top of his lungs. Or the TEN times he got out of bed yesterday (needless to say he didn't get a nap). And he seems to think he gets milk every single time he gets back into bed. I don't think so. Even super-absorbant diapers can't accomodate THAT! But, he's usually a good boy. He loves playing outside, and he REALLY loves his brother. He's already protective of him. It's wonderful about that.

Logan is doing well. His eye has been gooped up since birth, but apparently it's just a blocked tear duct - but it makes my mother think I don't wash his face, since his eye is perpetually crusty. I've never seen any child who loved his diapers being changed. Smiles every time, unless he hungry. He likes to be held a lot more than Joseph did, though. Hence my lack of entries. I cannot type a whole entry one handed. I don't have that kind of patience. He has a pediatric/shots appointment on Thursday, and a cardiologist appointment on the following Thursday, so we'll see how he's progressing. But from all I can see, he thriving. He's usually a very happy baby. Even tempered (as long as he's being held at certain times of the day). But he's JUST like Joseph in that he will fight sleep to the bitter end. **pause to take non-child item out of Joseph's hand, only to be told, "don't like you"**

Jay's doing VERY well in school. **pause to stop the careening rocking chair before Joseph injures himself** He loves it. All A's. He just got transferred back to his old store, where he is now completely in charge - and he's happy about this too. He was starting to go stark raving mad at the other store. And, he was bringing his attitude home, so we had to talk about that a couple times, so that he wouldn't make his an enemy out of his wife. **pause to change diaper and place baby on play mat in attempt to finish entry** We are trying to go to Vegas in September for Jay's birthday. We really could use the trip, and the wekend away from the kids - to be with each other.

As for me, I got a job!!! I'm now the Executive Assistant to the President of a movie house chain in europe. The corporate office is in the U.S. since it's owned 50-50 by two major studios here. This whole thing is a story in an of itself. I had received an offer on another job. **pause to take Joseph over to Papa's house - can you see why I can't get an entry done?? It's 9am (and I'm a very fast typist)** It was as a payroll coordinator for a hoity-toity restaurant chain. It was my minimum pay, with required overtime, and I don't like payroll. But nothing else seemed to turn up. I accepted the offer and was supposed to start on Monday. **the baby is screaming, another pause to feed and rock, and he's down for his first 10 minute power nap** I didn't really want the job, but the people were nice, so I thought I'd bite the bullet. Well, a couple of days after I accept that offer, I get another offer from the studio for this job I REALLY REALLY wanted. Benefits, perks, a lot more money, my own office, and not doing payroll. I felt awful, but I called and let them know that I wasn't going to be starting on Monday. I just didn't want that job, and this was such a much better offer. I start on 9/3. **pause - okay it was a 5 minute nap*** I'm actually excited about this. When we weighed pros and cons, the only cons were that it was a longer commute, and that it didn't start for another 3 1/2 weeks. And it's a good job, and the president seems really nice.

I'm still doing my transcription training. But I know it will be about 6 months to a year before I'm done, and then I still have to find a job from home doing that.

I started trimlife a couple of days ago. We'll see how well it works. I definitely am eating less in portion size, and I have a lot of energy, and so I'm moveing more. I have got to lose some of this weight. I feel so squishy, and frumpy, and huge. So I decided to do something about it. I was going to do weight watchers, but frankly, I couldn't count the points when I'm trying to stuff my face to get enough nutrition to get through the day, bouncing the baby on my hip, one handed, in 5 minutes, because Joseph is going to need me any second.

A friend of the family is going to watch the kids for only $200 per week. This is only the fraction of the normal cost - especially with such a small infant. MUCH better than putting Logan, who's so young into child care. So, that worked out well.

I'm, stressed out, tired, and slightly emotionally drained. But all things considered, I think I'm doing okay, and certain things are looking good!

0 comments so far

1:14 p.m.