May 12, 2002

5/12

Happy Mother's Day to all the moms out there.

Today is not a good day for me. I don't know if it's hormones, the heat, the pregnancy, or what. We went out to brunch with my parents. Nice, in theory. Unless you count that I'm VERY pregnant (is this child EVER going to be born?), and I'm therefore not comfortable ever. And you add in a 2 year old. You see, he doesn't act up unless I'm there. Jay says that it's how I react to him. My mother can't shut up about how much better he is when I'm not there. Joseph is trying to hurl plates across the room. My father is bugging me because I'm not ready to order yet (because I'm trying to reign in Joseph, give him his water to drink, retrieve crayons from the floor, keep the drawing on the paper, retrieving crackers from the floor, and keeping the sharp utensils away from him). Then when everyone is halfway done with their meal, they wonder why I haven't started yet? All in all it made me feel like an incompetent, "bad" mother. Doesn't anyone ever think before they speak??? And then, because I'm holding my belly while going over the bumps in the road, they think I'm in labor. Um, no - that speed bump was just a little tall - and we're in a truck. Jay is acting like I'm snapping his head off at every turn, which I don't think I am. Everyone is looking at me suspiciously like I'm going to sort of explode (literally, not figuratively). My father gets annoyed because I'm not smiling my "real" smile into the camera. When I informed him that I would smile however I want to, my husband proceeds to make excuses for my behavior. Hello?? I am in my right mind. I am not senile, I am not a child, I'm simply pregnant. Don't make excuses for me, just don't act like an idiot. I'm not able to abide by unthinking, asinine, or inflammatory comments right now. Oh, and some other phrases you may wish to avoid at the moment: My god you're huge. You mean you still haven't had the baby? You're still here? Are you sure you're actually pregnant? Aren't you doing anything to start labor? Don't you feel anything yet? Were they right about the due date? Gee, you look uncomfortable. Why are you limping? What happened to your ankles? Well, it's gotta come out sometime. Now, tomorrow is my midwife appointment, and I'm going to hear about water intake, and how I should be eating more vegetables, and could we slow down on the weight gain? The baby's big enough.

I apologize for the bad language... but it's gotta be said. At this point, everyone can go fuck themselves.

0 comments so far

1:06 p.m.