October 15, 2001

10/15

Well. There is a reason I haven't been writing.

If you guess correctly, Yup ladies and gentlemen, Michele is indeed pregnant.

9 weeks. I'm feeling sick 24 hours a day, which is why I haven't been writing. I've been pretty much vegging. I just had my first prenatal appointment. We're doing things a little differently, this time. I'm going to a midwife. I'll be giving birth in a hospital, and I will also be seeing a regular MD, but I had such an awful experience the first time around, that I decided to make some real decisions for myself this time.

I loved our midwife clinic. Plus, there's some little things that make me feel better about the whole thing. For example, I don't check in during my appointment. I just walk right into the back, take my own weight, take my own urine test, analyze the results (very easy), and report it to the midwife when I'm examined. Why is this such a big deal to me?? It makes me feel like I'm actually trusted with my own body. I'm not "sick" in need of being "healed". It's not a "sterile" environment. I'm not in need of being poked and prodded, and measured, and then told I pass muster. Or what's worse, being told I DON'T pass. I can bring Joseph, and he's allowed to run around and explored. When he walked into the office to say "hi" at the top of his lungs and then ran off, right in the middle of my surgical history, the midwife simply stopped and said, "I love boys, they're great", and then continued where we left off.

This was a good choice.

In other news, I'm still trying to find an at-home job. It's not looking promising. Any ideas are helpful.

I'll try to write more, I promise. 'Course the key word there is TRY.

0 comments so far

12:03 p.m.