July 16, 2001

7/16

Well, my dad finally had the surgery on Saturday morning. The surgery went just fine. Everything took a little longer than normal, from the anesthesia to the surgery itself. But that's just cause my father's a big guy. He's 6'1" and about 300lbs. Former football player, and then a sheet metal worker. He's big. Which means more anesthesia, more difficulty in turning him over (the surgery was in his back) that kind of thing. I suppose it would be difficult to do that, when the person in unconcious. He has about a 2 inch incision and 6 staples in his back. They will come out at the end of the month. He came home this morning. He has to walk with a walker until his legs regain strenth again. He hasn't been able to really feel them for over a week now. He said his knees feel all rubbery, since he hadn't been able to use them. He looks good, and while he's pretty ginger with everything, I have a feeling he'll be recovered in less time than he thinks. I think we're going to have to remind him to take it easy to be honest.

But the main thing here is... He can walk.

I have been pretty annoyed today. Which got me started to thinking about pet peeves. I have a few.

Cold call solicitors. I can now get a credit card. This is wonderful news, and just goes to show you how much work I've been doing on our financial responsibilities. However, they call, they give you their schpiel (today's was how I can get all these great deals at stores if I belong to my credit card's club, for just $149 a year - oh, and they'll up my limit by $150 so my limit won't be effected by this "deal"). I usually tell these people that I can't afford it thank-you-very-much. That's when they go into this deal about how woe-is-them I'm losing out on such a wonderful offer. That's about when I hang up. I understand that they've got to sell their stuff. However, what truly bothers me is when I say no, and I'm polite, they keep trying to push. I have to resort to being rude (and I consider hanging up on someone rude) to get them off of my phone. I resent that.

Turning without using your blinker. Or better yet, coasting over 4 lanes to cut you off in order to make that turn without using their blinker - then you look in your rearview mirror and see that there is no one behind you for miles and miles. They WANTED to cut you off.

Being tickled. Or being about to pee and my husband not stopping when I tell him to.

Don't EVER steal my pillow.

Road rage. My husband has a problem with this. If someone is a dork, he gets this determined/maniacal look in his eye. I feel the car start to accelerate, and then next thing you know, we're tailgating the offending party. These are some choice phrases I've heard out of my husband's mouth when driving:

"Stick your nose out there, and I'll WIPE IT!" - This is for those individuals who are pulling out of driveways, and stick their front end into the lane in order to determine it's safe for them to pull into the lane.

"You have failed Jay's school of Merging" - Self Explanatory.

"Let's see what a butt-head looks like.... Now THAT is a butt-head" - When the offending party is no longer in front of us, and Jay has decided that he must see what this person looks like.

I won't go into the 4 letter words... At least he has the decency to blush when he realizes that Joseph is in the car seat in the back.

Customer service in general. Doesn't anyone know how to be polite anymore????? Doesn't anyone realize that by the very essence of me giving money to them, they are now meant to serve me in whatever that capacity is? Perhaps it's just making sure that my loot doesn't make the alarm go woo-woo-woo. But can't you do it with a smile, or perhaps a thank you? You are NOT doing me a favor. I am paying you. Get it? ARRRrrrggggg. So what do I do? I meekly say thank you and leave the establishment. When what I really want to do is give them a piece of my mind. But I'm too much of a wuss. Don't get me wrong, I can be very accomodating in a good way. And if you insult me or mine to my face, you had better get out of my way. I will let you know what you can do with your insult. And I'll let your manager know what you can do too. My husband, the former marine, knows just to get out of the way, and let me protect his honor. Otherwise he'll get the toungue lashing instead. I'm not one to sit back and let my husband make things right when I have been blatantly wronged. But if you're just plain old rude, or not exactly rude, but terribly disinterested, I'll just act like a wuss. My mother however will reply to the person, "my, you really love your job" in this tone. If you know my mother, you know the tone. You don't EVER want that tone turned on you. This embarasses me a lot. Still.

My what a tangent.

In other news, Joseph can almost say "cookie". And he can almost say "all gone". Jay thinks that one day he's going to walk in and Joseph will simply say, "Why, good morning father, and how are you this fine day?"

I wouldn't put it passed him.

0 comments so far

11:52 a.m.