July 3, 2001

7/3

I was just thinking about something. I have now moved to the town I grew up in. It's been 8 years since I graduated high school. And I still have school spirit. I realized this when I was thinking about fireworks tomorrow. You see, to really see good fireworks, we'll need to go to our high school rivals, the Falcons (we were the Spartans). I feel like a traitor. Not only that, my mouth actually curled up in discust. I can't believe my reaction. I mean it was high school for goodness sakes. Sigh. I will just have to buck up. I want my little boy to see fireworks.

Not much is going on in my life. Jay's knee has really been bothering him. He went to a new doctor (since the move, we have new insurance). He loved it. You see, we've always been used to being treated like cattle with Kaiser. Before I had Kaiser, I had Medical. I was considered an abandoned child, and so the state of California paid for my medical care. Many Medical patients are also welfare recipients. When I would go to the doctor, I was treated with distaste and snobbishness. I feel truly sorry for those on welfare (legitimately, not trying to cheat the system), because I got a glimpse of how they were treated. So when Jay went to a regular doctor's office (we're now on a PPO), and we live in an affluent area, so there are very affluent patients there, he was treated like a real human being. He was treated like a man should be when he has an injury. Anyway, he was referred to an osteopath. So I have to make him another appointment so that a "knee guy" can take a look at him. I hope there isn't surgery in his future.

My son decided that it was necessary to be a brat today. He isn't a brat at my parents house so I ran him over there to walk around to give myself a break. When I tried it a second time (the change in scenery seems to help), my mother said, "Just go get the playpen, I'll take him for a little while". I love my mother. I never feel guilty when she watches him. She doesn't make me feel that way. And she says no when she can't or doesn't feel like it. I don't feel like I'm being a burden, or pawning off my son. It really gives me a break, I can do things around the house with nary a whine.

I've been a little at a loss with Joseph. I think the next time I go to Gymboree, I'm going to buy a book I saw. It's different activities and stuff by age group. He's too young for things like fingerpainting, but he's too old just to stay in one place and be fascinated. I'm at an in-between place that I don't know what to do with him. That's one of the reasons I started taking him to gymboree. But I certainly need some ideas.

0 comments so far

11:49 a.m.