June 30, 2001

6/30

My son has a new skill. Today, he managed to undo his diaper, take it off, and throw it out of the playpen at me. He was quite proud of himself.

I have come to understand something. Mothers and housewives are not appreciated. I feel totally unappreciated. I will be doing laundry, and dishes, and feeding slimy baby food to little people for the rest of my life. At least it feels that way. After Joseph whined at me for the 1,352,655th time today, I kind of just went and laid on the bed an didn't move. Jay looked at me like I was nuts. Jay said that Joseph was calling for me. Duh. Why don't you go get him? I have to go to work, he answers. Sigh. And so I went to answer the 1,352,656th whine.

This is what my life has become. And what's more, I've become obsessed with keeping my house picked up. When I was working, I couldn't have cared less. Probably due to the fact that it was quite a feat to last the day on the amount of sleep I was getting. Now, I'm obsessed.

I finished decorating the bathroom. It exeeds my expectations. I think I'll do something small and simple next, like the hallway. Yes, I even have plans for our hallway. I told you. Obsessed.

Joseph went to Gymboree today. Again, he refused to participate in the singing circle. Of course he was the only one. I again got weird looks. He was beat up by other little 2 1/2 footers, too. But I didn't get upset, since the parents of those children disciplined them as necessary. He just looked at them all funny, but he didn't even peep. Maybe playing rough has it's merits. He seems to think they were playing. At least he didn't hit them back... He only reserves that for mommy it seems. He's still terrified of the parachute game. Big tears. It scares him. I was hoping that fear would diminish, and he loves hiding under blankets and such, but it seems to be getting worse. Ahhh well. I don't really care. I just pick him up, hitch him on my hip, and participate with the other parents. He head nuzzled a little girl today. She was only after him for his bean bag though. Poor boy. Being used by the girls already :)

0 comments so far

11:48 a.m.