June 12, 2001

6/12

I'm Back!!!! You'll notice that this is almost 7 months later. Let's recap. The short version is this. We were in debt. Not much, but it was hanging over our head. The problem was that we were living in Silicon Valley. A two income family, and we couldn't pay anything but living expenses. We couldn't pay rent. My in-laws came to the rescue, and gave us an offer to live with them rent free, so we could pay off our debts, save some money, and figure out what we wanted to do. The time limit was 6 months, per agreement with their landlord. A temporary situation. We did that. We moved in and one of their rules was no computer. I won't go into the reasons for that, because I don't want to turn this entry into a rant. We paid off our debts, and saved a little money. We also ended up buying a car, 'cause our old one died an excrutiatingly painful (and expensive) death. And I had an epiphany. I wanted to stay home. Our current arrangement was, I worked days, Jay worked nights, and he watched the baby during the day, I watched him at night. We saw each other about 1/2 hour a day total. It was awful. But I had to work. There was no way out of that one. I knew what I wanted however, so it was a matter of making it happen. So I talked to Jay. He backed me up completely. He felt that while this situation was working (not hapilly, but working), it wasn't how it was meant to be. He and I both decided that Joseph needs me at home. For example, When we would try and get Joseph to say "Mama", he said "bye bye" and waved instead. Heartbreaking. So, we branstormed. We determined that I would continue to work the 6 months at my in-laws so we could save that money. I gave 4 months notice at my job. Now, we had to figure out where we would go. We had an option open to us that I promised myself I would never do. But you see, living with my in-laws was pure hell. I realized that now that I have done that, I can do anything. I called my parents. They had a house next door to them that they rented. I told them my plan. I asked if it would be a possibility to move there. Why you might ask? Cheap rent. Really cheap rent. About $350 a month less than our apartment, for a 2 bedroom house, yard, fireplace, in a nice neighborhood. As opposed to a very small, nothing works, no one fixes anything, expensive 1 bedroom, in a terrible neighborhood, with gang bangers living in the apartment above us. My parents said yes. In fact it was an ecstatic yes. When they said yes, they went bonkers. They gave the current tennant proper notice. Then they started working on the house. New bathrub, toilet, sinks, carpet, paint, and repairs all through the house. And they gave us even cheaper rent than their previous tennant. My parents are great landlords, BTW. The previous tennant lived here for 10 years. They raised the rent once, $50. That's it. And I know they fix things promptly. However, the previous tennant never mentioned any problems when asked, and so my father had a lot of repairs to make, 10 years worth. Anyway, now, Jay had to get a job down there. Not so easy when your new place is 350 miles away. So, we went down south to visit my parents, and Jay went job hunting. Then he contacted his union. They got him transferred. The next question would be, does Michele have to get a job again? We had to buy that used car (fairly new actually, a '99). My mother however, cashed in an investment, and paid it off for us. We owe her the money now, without interest. She said we can make payments monthly of any amount we can afford. This means, I don't have to work.

So, we moved. We now live next door to my parents. all the things I was dreading to happen haven't. My mom told me that they wanted to help us. We couldn't afford where we were, Joseph needs me, and Jay is wonderful to me. He a hard worker, and they love him too. She also knows, since I talked to her, how hard it was for me and my in-laws, and eventually Jay and his parents. She thinks That they were wrong about some things, and wanted to help us do what WE wanted to do. To top off the move, when Jay transferred, he was promoted. Yay!!!

Life is now really good. My parents are great about Joseph. THey love to just hang out with him to give me a break. They don't make me feel guilty in the slightest. If anything, they almost feel priviledged. That's a wonderful feeling. I've got a great little house, that I'm slowly turning into a home. Jay LOVES his job. We actually have a social life with some of my old friends, and Jay has really hit it off with one of my friend's boyfriend.

Life is really good right now. I'm finally happy. I haven't been for a long time. I actually was going to the chiropractor 'cause the stress was too much for my back. I'm relaxed now. It's a truly wonderful feeling.

I'm back to doing my journal. Hopefully for the long run. It's good to be back to what I know.

0 comments so far

11:43 a.m.