September 8, 2000

9/8

Well. I've got a few random things to talk about. First of all, this whole yahoo/webring thing is annoying. I don't host any webrings. However, I belong to a few, so this effects me as well. Just had to re-do one webring, since it moved to netring or ringsurf or something. I don't mind doing it, but sheesh. They're going to end up losing a lot of their sites. (Yahoo/webring I mean) This isn't the first ring mentioning moving somewhere else.

I was actually interviewing for other jobs. I actually was just about ready to get an offer. But Jay and I talked about it, and decided that we would wait until after the first of the year, and then re-asess. Why? The job I was about to be offered was great as far as salary, benefits, etc. go. But it was something that I didn't want to do. It was recruiting. I didn't like recruiting while I was doing it. I like the other side of HR, after the people are already employees. My boss id going on a 6 week sabbatical. She needs someone who knows what they're doing to run the office while she's gone, not some newbie. Then after that, the holidays are upon us. Why is that a big deal you ask? Because where I work, we process about 5,000 volunteers during the season, and we're only a 5 person department. They're going to need my help. Plus Jay is going to be putting in his stuff for the marines, and I know before making any changes on our end, we should wait to see what the outcome will be on that end. I'm almost relieved. I was not looking forward to talking to my boss about this. Now, I'm glad that I didn't. Plus, I think I may be getting a raise soon. I'm not sure yet. But it's a possibility. That will be a big help, since that was the whole reason I was looking at other positions. I'm glad I looked though. I had a lot of responses, and it was a very encouraging thing to see. And you know what? I AM a good worker, I AM worth the money. I feel better about staying.

We will be going down to my visit my parents in the end of October. This should be interesting. Joseph will be 6 months by then. We'll be taking him on a PLANE. I VERY nervous about this. I don't want to be one of THOSE people. The ones whose babies scream at the top of their lungs... But it's better than driving six hours and dealing with him in a carseat all that time. Anyone have any tips on traveling with a baby?

I'm really looking forward to not having to go to work tomorrow. I used to say "I'm really looking forward to sleeping in tomorrow". Gee. But I don't think that's going to happen again until Joseph goes to college. At least he's consistent.

A lady at my work just had a baby 4 weeks ago. She came in with him this week. I can hardly remember Joseph being that small, even though I know he was. What really gets me is the fact that she has her figure back. Completely. 4 weeks later. I still look 6 months pregnant, almost 5 months later. This is so depressing. I never have time to excersize. And when I do have some time to spare, I really don't because I need to use that time to do laundry etc. I'm really not feeling too good about myself and how I look. I'm so icky and frumpy. If only I could figure out the right way to lose weight for me. The only thing that's worked in the past was speed. I don't think that's a good idea at all, so that's out of the question. So, now what? I feel so unattractive. Why can't I be one of those thin, beautiful, glowing mommies. You know the kind. but No. I don't glow, I sweat. I try to look nice, and the second I do, I have spit up on my shoulder. I'm one of those women now who can be termed "matronly". I DON'T WANNA!!!!!!

Enough whining.

0 comments so far

11:16 a.m.