July 12, 2000

7/12

So many things have happened lately, but they're such a jumble in my head that I think that I can only touch on them lightly. I'm so excited I can hardly contain myself. Mainly, Jay is trying to get back into the Marine Corps. This is a very good thing. He had a bad conduct discharge (long story), and he's trying to get that upgraded. If he does, he's going to re-enlist. If that happens - it's a big "if", after all this is the government, it will help us so much. Jay will get to do something that he loves, we'll be able to move to a less expensive area, get help with housing, and I might be able to be a stay-at-home mom. We're really excited about this. First, they have to approve his upgrade though. That could take up to 6 months. Jay got the form in the mail today, so tomorrow, he's going to the VA to get help from a counselor in filling it out.

This could open so many doors for us. SO many. It could help with out finances. Wow. I might get to see my son grow up. This is so cool. It's taken Jay 3 years to make this decision. Now that it's finally made, we're going for it gung-ho.

At first we were concerned about going ahead with this, because we weren't sure if it was God's plan, or our plan. We want to do God's will, so we asked for some specifics. We ended up getting confirmation after confirmation. So, we know we're on the right track. We don't know if we'll end up in the Marines or not, but we know this is the track God wants us on. I wonder where it will lead. I don't think that hisi mom is thrilled with the idea, but I think she has more peace about it than if we were to do this a couple of years ago. But then again, she could be hiding her anxiety from us.

My parents are coming up this weekend. Hrmmm... It's only been a month since the last visit. I'm excited, and dreading it all at once. They can really drive me nutso.

I can't wait for the weekend to get here, and yet I can't wait for it to be over.

0 comments so far

11:09 a.m.