June 14, 2000

6/14

This is not such a great day to be a baby. First off, he had a doctor's appointment. That went fine. He was 12 lbs! He's getting so big. Then he had shots. 4 of them. One in one leg. One in one arm. And two in the other leg. He cried these big huge fat tears while his daddy held him. I started to cry myself. He so little and innocent, and here he is getting shots that would make a grown-up cry. I felt so awful. It was good that Jay was holding him. I'm afraid that if he wasn't, he might have hit someone out of reflex. Then we came home. We don't have air conditioning, so we have 3 fans that are on full blast. It's about 110 here today. We had the baby sleeping on a towel naked. Immunization shots usually give a fever, so we were planning on that on top of the heat for the poor little guy. So what happens? The power goes off. That means no fans. What makes me mad is that we found out from the power company that this was planned. They have to do regularly scheduled power outages in order to cut down on the chance of fire. I'm mad because if this was planned, then they could let us know. I had a sick, feverish, mad baby, in 110 degree heat, and no fans. We're all a little cranky around here.

Our car has a busted water pump. We're trying to get the car towed to our mechanic tonight. Hopefully I can get AAA to do this. I couldn't yesterday, 'cause I was at work and they wouldn't do it without me there. I'm the only person on the card. We really need our car back. We've been borrowing the in-laws car.

Jay and I are going to a marriage conference on the 24th. It should be fun and enlightening, and just some time for us. I'm looking forward to it.

0 comments so far

11:04 a.m.