May 8, 2000

5/8

We live in an apartment complex. Comparitively, it's a small complex, just 12 units, centered around a courtyard. Depending on which layout you have, some people's bathroom windows face out into the courtyard. While the windows are too high to see anything graphic, what you hear may surprise you. You see, most everybody keeps their windows open, 'cause there isn't any ventilation in the bathrooms. This way, they won't get steamed out. Jay and I smoke. We don't smoke around the baby, which means we smoke in the courtyard. You can find out interesting things from the bathrooms. For instance, I found out that one of our neighbors has a man living with her. I thought that it was just a "yeah, you can crash on my couch" kind of thing - til she was taking a shower at 4 in the morning - and he was in the bathroom with her. They were talking about mundane stuff, but our shower doors are not for the shy. Ahem. Then there's Carla. Carla is a VERY strange woman who lives with her equally strange husband and son. I don't agree with how they treat their son, but it doesn't seem abusive, so I don't say anything. I just try to avoid them. Carla is now pregnant with her second child. The morning sickness has hit. Hard. Morning sickness consists of throwing up, of course. Well - she does it very loudly. As in, I am in my own apartment with the windows and doors shut and I can still hear her through her bathroom window. I just had my child. I too had morning sickness. Therefore, every time I hear her, I feel like doing the same thing. But, for the life of me, I can't figure out a tactful way to ask her to close her bathroom window... Emily Post does not mention this kind of social situation.

Then there are the walls. Thin as paper. Our immediate neighbor, Daniel, is a gorgeous hunk of a man. He's a young father (adorable son), and is a widow. In the two years we've lived here, he's never had a girlfriend. He does now. A few nights ago, grandma took his son for the night. The girlfriend stayed over for the night. That girlfriend has one set of lungs! Daniel also must have stamina that I've only seen in race horses. I had an advantage over the other neighbors. They were in the living room, which shares a wall with our living room. And I have a newborn that keeps me up all hours of the night. She left in the morning absolutely glowing. Of course, Daniel didn't look too shabby either. At first I felt guilty about Joseph screaming (it was a particularly rough night for him) - but then I decided that it was it's own form of birth control. A reminder, if you will.

Which brings me to my next point... I am horny. I haven't had sex in months - and I'm ready. But to do this, we need some uninterrupted quiet time. Things keep getting in the way. I'm seriously getting frustrated here. We meant to do it today, but Jay got called in to work tonight, which meant he needed uninterrupted sleep to be able to perform at work. This meant he wasn't performing with me. sigh...

My neighbors keep making it more and more obvious that I'm the only one not getting any.

0 comments so far

12:30 a.m.